A Personal Plea From NKYWx’s Jeremy Moses: Help Spina Bifida Association of Cincinnati

To the Loyal Fans of NKYWx:

I’ve struggled with whether or not I should make this post. I have decided (with a bit of encouragement from at least one meteorologist friend – thank you Nicole Misencik of WTHR/Indianapolis) that if I do so, it can’t hurt. This is intensely personal, it is a part of me…and I feel I should share this with my loyal Facebook fans and Twitter followers. On the NKYWx Facebook and Twitter feeds, and so far here on the blog, I have tried to keep my personal life out of what I do weather-wise. I just felt it unnecessary to combine these two things.

But, as is commonly said, “To know is to understand”, or something like that. I may have that quote messed up, as I’m writing this at 4:40 in the morning after agonizing with this decision, off and on, for 3 weeks.

Yours truly was diagnosed with Spina Bifida at birth in 1985. Spina Bifida (Latin: “Split Spine”), which from now on I will refer to as SB, is a congenital birth defect in which the spine fails to close up completely. It does not have me — let me be clear. I have it. It does not define me. It does not define what I do.

It does, however, occasionally affect what I do, and my ability to do it well. At times, issues that are, directly or indirectly, related to SB, cause a medical scare that I have to take care of. (If you’ve been around long enough this year, you know I recently underwent an endoscopy…my digestive tract is one thing that SB has, indirectly, affected. My urinary tract is directly impacted, for another example.)

So, this is why I bring all of this up. Again, I normally don’t promote non-weather events I am doing on this site or on the NKYWx Twitter or Facebook pages, but this is something dear to my heart. On September 29 at 10 AM, I am participating in the 12th annual Walk and Roll for the Spina Bifida Association of Cincinnati at Miami Whitewater Forest in Harrison. If you are able and willing to help me in this cause, please give a donation to SBAC on my behalf. The link will take you straight to a fundraising page I have set up. It’s 100 percent secure, goes directly to and STAYS with the SBAC to help local families, and it’s tax deductible.

So…if you are able to help, I ask you to please, do so. It won’t take much from you. But if a bunch of us get together…well, it all goes far in helping SBAC support families in the Cincinnati Tri-State.

Find out more about SBAC at the Spina Bifida Association of Cincinnati website.

Thank you,

Jeremy Moses
NKYWx Admin

2 thoughts on “A Personal Plea From NKYWx’s Jeremy Moses: Help Spina Bifida Association of Cincinnati

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Morning 9/18 Forecast Discussion: Rain’s Going Away…Eventually | NorthernKYWeather.com

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Evening 9/18 Forecast Discussion: Chilly chili weather? | NorthernKYWeather.com

Leave a Reply

