12/29 Saturday Morning Winter Storm Update: Still Some To Go

WINTER STORM WARNING areawide, except Fayette and Union counties in Indiana which have a WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY, all in effect until 1 PM today…

TODAY: Snow will continue through the morning, with some of it heavier in places, and then it will taper to some scattered snow showers this afternoon. I had highs around 30, but to be honest, this might have been a bit low given where we are beginning this morning. I will adjust to 34. Tonight’s lows could be frigid cold. For now, I’ll go 23 and watch the trends to see if I need to adjust lower.

HOW MUCH?: By the end of the day today, including afternoon snow showers, MOST AREAS will be in the 3-6″ range! I can’t even rule out a 7″ snow amount or two in places that receive a heavy snow band for awhile this morning. That’s right…yesterday’s forecast was too low. You can bet I’ll be digging to see what I did wrong.

SUNDAY: As we close in on the final days of 2012, I expect dry weather again. We will keep highs in the upper 20’s AT BEST for the sold-out Bengals regular season finale! Brrrrr! Again, I will watch the temperature trends to see if this needs to be bumped downward.

MONDAY INTO NEW YEAR’S DAY: A dry day for Monday, but indications are that another quick shot of some kind of wintry precipitation will be around as we ring in 2013 Monday night and Tuesday. Although guidance suggests that this too will be in the form of snow, it’s way too early to grasp at specifics until we finish this event later today. Highs will be around 32, with lows in the upper teens.

WEDNESDAY/THURSDAY: Back to being dry, and I think we stay in the freezer too. Lows will be in the upper teens and highs at best in the upper 20’s once again. Winter is definitely here.

SOCIAL MEDIA: Follow along with us, and tell us what you see:

NKYWx on Facebook
NKYWx on Twitter

NEXT UPDATE: I should be back this evening with an update. As a heads up, on Sunday I will be at the aforementioned Bengals regular season finale with my mom (who’s taking me to THIS game in return for me taking HER to the opener), so I don’t know about updates for that day yet. Until tonight, take care!

Jeremy Moses

Leave a Reply

