Super Bowl Sunday 2/3 Update: Snowy This Morning, Still Cloudy Later

TODAY Another clipper will move through this morning and early this afternoon. Light snow showers will be around for that part of the day. We will then see mostly cloudy skies this afternoon. I don’t think we will rise far thanks to, cloud cover, snow cover, and the morning snowfall…I’m going with 28. Lows tonight fall off to 17. I’ll admit, there’s a decent bust potential tonight on that number…if we clear out at all, I might be too warm. I highly doubt this is the case, though.

MONDAY: There will be another clipper type system tomorrow. Now, here’s the thing: The forecast modeling tries to draw warm air up into NKY and allow some mixing of rain and snow. I’m not sure I buy it, because remember, we have snow on the ground. That tends to limit warming. If I go too much on either extreme, my head is going to be the one that rolls. 🙂 I hesitate to go warmer than about 30. As for precipitation type, the profile above the surface indicates that precipitation should be snow. Again, it’ll come down to those surface temperatures.

TUESDAY: I am going to introduce a chance of some snow on Tuesday as well, both early and late. We will have highs in the lower 30’s at best with lows in the upper teens to low 20’s.

WEDNESDAY-FRIDAY: I’m going to slowly raise temperatures, starting with highs in the lower 30’s on Wednesday (I simply can’t go with the 36 the GFS guidance has spit out…too warm by about 4 degrees). By Friday lows will be in the middle 20’s and highs finally reach the upper 30’s or maybe lower 40’s. As for sky conditions, Wednesday and most of Thursday we are okay. Thursday night and Friday, models have another system moving in and it should be rain maybe mixing with snow.

SOCIAL MEDIA: Follow along with us for weather info, school closings, and traffic updates:

NKYWx on Facebook
NKYWx on Twitter

NEXT UPDATE: Your next blog update will be tomorrow morning. Until then, enjoy the big game and BE CAREFUL!

Jeremy Moses

Leave a Reply

