Monday 2/4 Forecast: Rain, Snow, A Warmup…What Season IS it?

We have more precipitation on the way this week…but is it rain, or is it snow, or a mix of both perhaps? Welcome to your forecast update for Monday, February 4, 2013!

TODAY: There will be another clipper type system scooting through this afternoon and tonight. Now, here’s the thing: The forecast modeling tries to draw warm air up into NKY and allow some mixing of rain and snow for basically all of us, while keeping the all snow line near and north of I-70. I’m not sure I buy it, because remember, we still have snow on the ground. That tends to limit warming. If I go too much on either extreme, my head is going to be the one that rolls because I expect you all to hold me accountable when I miss. 🙂 I hesitate to go warmer than about 32 for today. Then tonight we fall off to around 22.

TUESDAY: I am going to leave a chance of some snow showers or flurries on Tuesday as well, both early and late. The latest guidance keeps the next storm far enough north to not present an issue, but I want to see what that does later today before I completely yank it. We will have highs around 35 with a low around 22 Tuesday night. I hesitate to go higher than that, again due to snow cover. That becomes less of a problem on Wednesday and forward.

WEDNESDAY-FRIDAY: I’m going to slowly raise temperatures, starting with highs in the middle 30’s on Wednesday (I simply can’t go with the 36 the GFS guidance has spit out…too warm by about 4 degrees). By Friday lows will be in the middle 20’s and highs finally reach the lower 40’s. As for sky conditions, Wednesday and most of Thursday we are okay. Thursday night and Friday, models have another system moving in and it should be rain maybe mixing with snow.

SATURDAY: Expect dry, partly cloudy conditions, and I do think highs can crack 45 after beginning around 30.

SUNDAY: This is when the next system rolls in, and it currently looks somewhat rainy. I have a high of 43 with lows around 35.

SOCIAL MEDIA: Follow along with us for weather info, school closings, and traffic updates [we do have a few NKY closings this morning]:

NKYWx on Facebook
NKYWx on Twitter

NEXT UPDATE: Your next blog update will be tonight. Until then, have a good Monday!

Jeremy Moses

Leave a Reply

